#### NOTICE OF CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL SESSION

THE STATE OF TEXAS \$
COUNTY OF DIMMIT \$
CITY OF CARRIZO SPRINGS \$

**NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT** the City Council of the City of Carrizo Springs, Texas has called a **Special Session** at City Hall, 308 West Pena Street, Carrizo Springs, Texas, 78834 on **Tuesday, May 7, 2019** commencing at **6:00 p.m.** for considering the following items of business:

#### CALL THE MEETING TO ORDER

Mayor Dina Ojeda-Balderas called meeting to order at approximately 6:00 p.m.

# ROLL CALL & ESTABLISHMENT OF QUORUM

The Council conducted their own roll call and declared the following Councilmembers present:

Dina Ojeda-Balderas Mayor

Sandra C. Little Mayor Pro Tem

Jesse Johnson Councilor Oscar E. Puente Councilor

John Camarillo Acting City Manager/Public Works Director

Melissa M. Guerra City Clerk

Gloria Martinez Finance Director

**Absent:** 

Sofia Morones Councilor

A quorum was established.

**STAFF:** 

Hugo Sulaica, City Marshal
Ramsey Castillo, Water Dept.

Alfonso Tobias, Deputy Marshal
Nestor Montalvo, Street Dept.

Gary Rios, Wastewater Dept. Joe Mata, Gas Dept.

Jesse Mendoza, Landfill

Monica Castillo, Daniel Castillo, Anissa Castillo, Jo Ester County, Neoma Embers, Wayne Seiple, Benny Rocha, Daisy Rocha, Vera Isaac, Lydia Seiple, Jacque Seiple, Julius Seiple, Patsy Galvan, Noel Galvan, Beningo Rocha Jr., Paula Seydel, Lydia Saenz, Alma McNeil, Zeta Donald, Patty Rocha, Jonellie Rocha, Ruben Martinez, Jeff Davis, George Castillo, Charles Isaac, Brett Bowman

#### WELCOME & RECOGNITION OF GUESTS

Mayor Dina Ojeda-Balderas welcomed and recognize all guests present.

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The City Council recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

## **NEW BUSINESS**

# ITEM 1: DISCUSSION AND APPROPRIATE ACTION TO CANVASS RETURNS FOR THE MAY 4, 2019 GENERAL ELECTION

#### A. DECLARE RESULTS

Mayor Dina Ojeda-Balderas canvassed the returns for the May 4, 2019 General Election.

# May 4, 2019 General Election Results

# **Mayoral Race**

Sofia Morones 203 Dina Ojeda-Balderas 213 Wayne Seiple 244

# **Council Race**

Benny Rocha 324 Oscar E. Puente 314

### B. ADMINISTER OATH OF OFFICE FOR NEWLY ELECTED OFFICIALS

Municipal Judge Francisco R. Ponce administered the oaths of office to the new Mayor Wayne Seiple and Councilmembers Benny Rocha and Oscar E. Puente.

#### C. APPOINT MAYOR PRO TEM FOR THE YEAR 2019-2020

Motion made by Councilor Jesse Johnson, second by Mayor Pro Tem Sandra C. Little to appoint Councilor Oscar E. Puente as Mayor Pro Tem for the year 2019-2020.

Vote for approval 4-0 (unanimous).

Motion carried.

# ITEM 2: DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION REGARDING PROPOSED TEXAS WATER DEVELOPMENT BOARD MEETING FOR THE CITY OF CARRIZO SPRINGS WATER SYSTEM IMPROVEMENT LOAN APPLICATION

Motion made by Councilor Sandra C. Little, second by Councilor Jesse Johnson to consider possible rate and tax increase for the proposed Texas water Development Board Loan Application to improve the City of Carrizo Springs Water System.

Vote for approval 4-0 (unanimous).

Motion carried.

City Council Minutes Special Session, May 7, 2019

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion made by Councilor Sandra C. Little, second by Mayor Pro Tem Oscar E. Puente to adjourn.

Vote for approval 4-0 (unanimous).

Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned approximately 6:34 p.m.

/s/Wayne Seiple
Wayne Seiple, Mayor
City of Carrizo Springs

ATTEST:

/s/Melissa M. Guerra
Melissa M. Guerra, City Clerk
City of Carrizo Springs